Workshops & Presentations


UPCOMING EVENTS:

2019

9 February 

Dunedin Branch NZSG
All Day Seminar
10am Start (Seated by 9.50am),
Dunedin Public Library, 4th Floor
(entrance to the lift through Library Car Park)
Cost $2 - Bring your own lunch


Programme

Finding Families  - United Kingdom.  Unlike New Zealand the United Kingdom has major collections of census records available from 1841-1911. Learn tips and tricks on how to use these and other records to reconstruct your UK families

Time Travelling Genealogist  As family historians we are great at travelling back in time to investigate our ancestors and find out about their lives. So what happens if we travel forward in time? What are our descendants going to find out about us?
Includes:  House History The genealogists perspective on researching the history of a house.

Are you the CMO of your Family  CMO’s come in lots of different forms, but if you’re the Family Historian, the Photographer, the Inheritor or the Hoarder in your family then you may be one. So what does it mean and what can you do to be a great CMO?

Extra! Extra! Read all about it  Newspapers all around the world are going digital. This talk covers accessing the newspapers; hints and tips on how to search them and then looks at how can you use them to add to your family history.


23 February

Your Place - Family History Workshop

Private function
Find out more about hosting your own Your Place - Family History Workshop here.

 

7 August

Legacy Family Tree Webinars

Finding Families in New Zealand

We don’t have any major collections of census records in New Zealand, so how else can you find families in New Zealand. Looking at the use of electoral rolls and school records to add to your family history.

Tuesday, August 06, 2019
10:00pm Eastern
9:00pm Central
8:00pm Mountain
7:00pm Pacific
Wednesday, August 07, 2019
2:00am UTC
12:00pm AEST
2.00pm NZST

Click to register for the webinar

Find out more about the Down Under Webinar series here

 

 

29-31 August

DNA Down Under
Sydney 3 Day conference

Castle Hill RSL Club, 77 Castle Street, Castle Hill NSW

The Magic of DNA

For more details click here

 

 

 

 

DO YOU NEED A SPEAKER?

A full list of Workshops and Presentations can be downloaded from here

Workshops: These practical workshops are of varying lengths. Computer requirements are indicated. 

Presentations: Tailored for a 1 hour presentation slot with questions (unless otherwise indicated),  presentations are supported with handouts where appropriate.

Upcoming Topics: We are always working on new ideas and welcome your suggestions.

Research Weekend: Have you considered a research weekend? Based in Christchurch, Fiona is available to travel and any requests would be considered. Depending on travel requirements up to eight presentations can be covered in a weekend. Mix and match workshops and presentations.

 

We love to share the family history and digital scrapbooking addiction. Here's where we have been speaking.