News RSS



Not At Rootstech London?

It seems like everyone that I follow on social media is in London for Rootstech, so I'm feeling a little bit like I'm missing out. But we can still join in as the Rootstech London 2019 – Free Streaming Schedule is up and you can join in here To make sure that you don't miss out, I've converted the times to Down Under times. For the insomniacs  there is a nice 1am lecture for the Kiwis. For the Saturday night Rugby widows and widowers there is Michelle Leonard's talk on DNA (Go the All Blacks!).    Down Under BST Session Thur NZDT 9.00pm   AEDT 7.00pm AEST 6.00pm AWST 4.00pm Thur 9.00am Comparing the Genealogy Giants: Ancestry, FamilySearch, Findmypast, and MyHeritage –...

Continue reading



Past Encounters: Christchurch Men 1860-61

While working on a client's research today, I found these fabulous lists of the men aged between 18 and 60 years living in the Christchurch area and who were "liable to serve as Militiamen for the year 1860-61 in the Militia District of Christchurch" in Papers Past.   It's important to remember that this is a list of those "liable to serve", it doesn't mean that they served. You can find the lists here:Lyttelton Times, 6 June 1860 - Abbott to Edwards (James) Lyttelton Times, 9 June 1860 - Edwards (Joseph) - Luck Lyttelton Times, 12 June 1860 - Luke - Stanton Lyttelton Times, 16 June 1860 - Stapleforth - Zouch   Maybe you'll find some of your family here.  ...

Continue reading